2 Comments

Why I went natural

I have had so many people ask me what persuaded me to go natural? Well first of all I haven’t had a perm all of my life. My mother decided to put a perm in when I was in the sixth grade. At first I was very excited because my hair “before perm” was touching my butt. Over the years it started to get shorter and shorter, and became damaged. I cut my hair in junior high. I had the a symmetrical haircut, and thought I was fly! :). I still wasn’t pleased, so I began to grow it back. I went through high school with healthy long hair, but something  was missing. To make a long story short, my hair started to fight against me. I used optimum relaxers the majority of my “permed” years. When I would get a relaxer, half of my hair would become straightened, and the other half still appeared nappy. I noticed a breakage in the center of my head at the back. My beautician at the time suggested I was not washing the relaxer completely out. I was fed up! In 2009 my aunt was coming for her yearly visit from Virginia. Usually I get all dolled up and look my best, but this particular year I didn’t care about my appearance. When my aunt Gladys came to town in August 2009 I had not had  a perm in over 6 months. I really didn’t make a conscious decision to go fully natural until around February 2010. Everyone started to ask, “what is up with your hair?” My mom was my number one critic, for so many years (about 20 to be exact) she had control over my appearance. She felt obligated to tell me that I looked a hott mess, and that I needed a perm with the quickness. I have so much drive and dedication until I think the break that I was initially giving my hair turned into a battle to prove to my “haters” that I would be beautiful, and that I am comfortable in my skin. The journey began, and July 2010 I was on vacation in Chicago and was fed up with the two textures of permed and natural hair. I will never forget the scene of my husband and I performing what is known as the big chop on my hair. We had to cut about 2 inches of stringy permed hair away! I feel fabulous, I look fabulous, and I can’t wait to see just how big my fro can grow. My hair is back to the length that it was at  when I first started going natural in 2009. My number one critic, my mother, loves my hair. I am so pleased with the results. Stay tuned for pictures, and check out my pics at youtube.com/nappiechick. What an amazing journey! I have learned so much and each day is a new day to be just how God made me! All natural!

Peace and blessings!

2 comments on “Why I went natural

  1. Being a full-time college student is hard enough yet alone trying to be a natural chick and maintain healthy curls. I’ve been a natural all my life and haven’t really tried to find something that can work out for me and that is safe/natural for my hair due to being on a budget and really not having enough time until very recent. I would love to have the opportunity to win the Kinky-Curly giveaway you’re doing to try out Kinky-Curly…your hair looked so pretty and defined!! I checked out the rest of your youtube channel and blog and love your reviews and videos. You’ve definitely got one more follower added to your list! Keep up the good work and God Bless!

  2. Leaving a comment for The Nappie Chick Giveaway for February

Leave a Reply

